"Must be nice"- This is something that a stranger said to me on Facebook after I posted a photo of my brand new D800 sitting in it's box on my kitchen counter.  I'm not exactly sure what she meant by those words.  It must be nice that what?  That I've worked my butt off to be able to afford my dream camera? I'm not sure. 
Though I am not exactly certain about what she meant, this is something I've had on my mind for quite some time: Getting to where you want to go takes love, hard work, dedication, and yes, a little more love.  Owning my dream camera is something that took three years. Three years of nonstop dedication. Hard work. Late nights. Tired mornings. Work-filled weekends. Work-filled holidays. Less time with family. Less time with friends. More time with my camera. More time with Photoshop. 
This is something that I have worked for. This is something that I deserve.
Here is something that I found on Pinterest (please excuse the language). I think this illustrates the point I am trying to make quite well:
I'm still working my butt off to get to where I want to be.  And to be quite honest, I'm not sure where I'm heading.  And I'm not sure if I'll ever be settled with where I'm at.
I feel like I'll always be reaching for the sky.  And I'm 100% okay with that.
This is the first shot I have taken with my new baby. She's a whole different beast compared to my first two, so I have a lot of learning to do. I'm looking forward to it.
Smiles and lots of love, Taylor
P.S. I want to thank my little sis for always being my "test bunny". I love you baby Al.
Laura
4/24/2012 07:43:17 am

You totally deserve it! Don't let anyone tell you differently!

Reply
Taylor
4/24/2012 12:09:23 pm

Thanks for the love and support, Laura. <3

Reply
Kyle
4/24/2012 11:36:43 am

Your new camera is going to be amazing! Yay I'm so happy! And such a wonderful picture!

Reply
Taylor
4/24/2012 10:51:39 pm

<3 Thanks Kyle!

Reply
4/24/2012 10:15:32 pm

Awww sissy! Peeps are just jealous of your talent. You've worked your booty off to be able to afford that camera! You let the haters know that you bought that camera with your OWN HARD EARNED MONEY (and you could also throw in how YES you do have a business license and YES you do pay taxes and YES you are even so official that you have an accountant :) :) :) ) hehehe. And then smile and say..."yes in fact, you are completely right. Doing what I love, making my dreams come true, and buying this totally badass camera IS NICE."

Reply
Taylor
4/24/2012 10:55:37 pm

HAHA:) I LOVE YOU, SISTER! Thank you so much for the love and support every step of the way. If it wasn't for you, I know I wouldn't be where I am. I remember sitting by the pool years ago, completely unconvinced, but you continued to believe in me and my talent. I remember you making me flyers on Word because I had no idea how! I truly can't thank you enough, Jamie. I couldn't have asked for a better big sister. <3

Reply
AlliE
4/25/2012 11:53:22 am

Love you and this picture sissy!:)

Reply
Tonya H
4/27/2012 01:31:40 am

Taylor, you should be very proud of yourself. I wish I could say I had your talent and had accomplished what you have at such a young age! You more than deserve that nice new camera (which I am jealous of, lol). :-)

Reply
4/28/2012 01:18:28 am

thank you so much for sharing this. love the quote. love the image. I'm glad I found you this morning! :)

Reply
Taylor
4/28/2012 01:58:39 am

Thanks Jamie! I am LOVING your blog right now;)

Reply



Leave a Reply.