Well, for starters, you must be a friend. A comforter.
 You must hold motherly instincts. 
A business woman and a comedian.
 A magician. A therapist. A mindreader.
 You must be able to put yourself in other's shoes and see things from their point of view. 
You have to be able to learn, and most importantly, accept that there is always more to learn. A student, but also a teacher.
 Sometimes, you have to be a mother. But most of the time, you just have to be a kid.
 You have to be a repairman and there are times that you may actually feel like a mailman.
 You must be a financial advisor and an artist at the same time, and it's important that you understand the difference.
 You have to be an acrobat and a master at yoga. 
You have to be a weather forecaster, a night owl, and a circus clown (but never at the same time). 
You are your own receptionist and accountant. 
You have to have an abundant collection of strange noises, songs, and nursery rhymes.
You have to patient. Very patient.
It's important to be sure that you don't take anything too seriously or personally.
You have to understand that everything doesn't always work out exactly as planned.
And that's why you have to be great at improvising.
You have to hold secret powers. A baby whisperer. 
You must know and record due dates of expecting mommas that you haven't even met yet. And LOTS of them.
You must be a puppet master, a fly on the wall, and an organizer.
Lastly, you must be a photographer. It isn't always easy being everything at once. You have to love it (even when it feels like you might hate it). You have to really really love it.
Ava's full session sneak peek will be posted soon, but I couldn't resist quickly posting these timeless black&white shots.  She was a dream to photograph. 
Have a wonderful week, everyone!
Smiles and lots of love, Taylor
Jennifer Snyder
2/26/2012 09:41:42 am

Absolutely amazing!

Reply
Taylor
2/26/2012 10:00:52 am

Thanks, Jen! I can't wait to get your gorgeous family in front of my lens again. Spring, please hurry along!

Reply
Samantha
2/26/2012 09:56:28 am

oh my goodness! That's my baby girl. We had so much fun today I'm glad we got together. Thanks again!=)

Reply
Taylor
2/26/2012 10:02:00 am

It sure is your baby girl! It was a pleasure having you and your little family in the studio this afternoon. Stay tuned for the full sneak peek:)

Reply
Alim
5/15/2012 09:40:39 am

Taylor,

I love your website, blog and style of photography. I have seriously considered getting myself into photography for quite a long time now. Seeing your blog has reminded me of how much of a joyful passion photography is- you get to make other people happy and seeing your work is proof of that.

I too want to specialize in portraiture- especially infants and children. I love kids and working with them would be such a joy. Any help and tips that you could share would really be great.

Reply
Taylor
5/15/2012 12:00:58 pm

Alim, thank you so much for the comment! I would love to chat with you sometime. Please shoot me and email at [email protected] :)
If you are located anywhere nearby, I want to let you know that I am planning on offering affordable classes (or workshops) this Summer. I hope to hear from you soon! <3

Reply



Leave a Reply.