I carry you in my heart.
Picture
I've had something on my mind.
I want to write it down.  I want to preserve the moment in words so that I will never forget.
Throughout the school year, during seventh period in the library, a teacher would smile at me daily.  Sometimes she would even stand in the doorway and watch me until I noticed. Of course, I always smiled back at her. 
On the very last day of school, she finally approached me.  Her eyes were water-filled as she told me that she had wanted to talk to me ever since she first saw me in library but she didn't know what to say, or how to say it.  I just smiled at her, completely confused.  She went on to tell me that her daughter used to babysit me, and that her daughter was also very very close to Casey.  Her eyes began to swell even greater with tears and she continued, "I wanted to tell you how much you remind me of Casey. You look so much like her, you laugh like her... you carry yourself just like her."  My own eyes began to fill with tears.  Although I already knew all of that, it was so much different to hear it coming from a complete stranger.  I hugged her tight, and as I turned away from her to get back to my work (and hide my tears), she whispered, almost as if it was not meant for me to hear,
 "You are so cute."
And that was it.
Before the school day had ended, and before I entered the excitement filled hallway, I looked back to see her just one more time before Fall.  She was standing on the fire escape looking out on the TC football field.  Clearly wiping her tears, I knew that it was toilsome for her to speak with me. I am so glad that she did.
 Casey touched so many lives, and she so manifestly continues to touch mine.  She fills all of the corners of my heart, always.

Much love, Taylor
Sarah
6/16/2011 04:36:09 am

goosebumps and tears....thanks for sharing Taylor. When I read posts like yours it makes me stop and remember Casey and how much I will forever miss her.

Reply



Leave a Reply.