No one said it was easy. How can it be? I truly wish I could just find the words. I don't write of her often, but I think of her always.
It's hard to begin to explain the disconnect I've been feeling. The few memories I am blessed to have of her are tucked away, safely, but still hidden. I wish that I could find them again. Rediscover them. Perhaps the further I age away from them, the more faded and distant they become. That can't be. Can it? I feel like I've been robbed. It's not fair. Life isn't fair.
Death isn't, either.
I worry that I don't have a place for her anymore. I feel like I hardly know her. I feel like she is so far away. Sure, I look at her photographs often, I sleep with her teddy bear every night, and I still drive with the pendant she gave me years ago. But the door in my heart that I promised myself she would always be behind? Well, I seem to have lost the key.
I look to the sky for comfort. Maybe it's the overwhelming size, or beauty, or both. I'm not quite sure what it is, but when I look up, I certainly feel a little less astray.
It seems like I've lost myself in these feelings. I'm buried way deep down at the bottom of the heap.
 I know that she's up there watching me. Maybe she wants to dig me out. Maybe she's wishing she could help me understand. 
Or maybe she's searching for me, too.

xx
Gretchen
4/9/2012 12:14:50 pm

Taylor,
I know that she is looking down on you, SO proud of who you've become. She will be with you always even on the days you dont feel her. Keep ahold of your memories and cherish them forever!!!

Reply
Taylor
4/15/2012 10:54:54 pm

Gretchen,
I can't thank you enough for your kind words. I will most definitely cherish the memories I have forever. <3

Reply



Leave a Reply.